How to close Facebook account temporarily or permanently – If you are tired of Facebook and you are confused on the decision to take: Closing it temporarily or permanently? You need to know the difference between the two. Mind you, closing it temporarily means DEACTIVATION and closing it permanently means DELETION. So, let’s take a look at the differences between the two:
If you choose to deactivate your account:
You can reactivate whenever you want.
People can’t see your Timeline or search for you.
Some info may remain visible (example: messages you sent).
If you choose to delete your account:
You can’t regain access once it’s deleted.
Deletion may be delayed a few days after it’s requested. A deletion request is cancelled if you log back into your Facebook account during this time.
It may take up to 90 days to delete data stored in backup systems. Your info isn’t accessible on Facebook during this time.
Some things aren’t stored in your account. For example, a friend may have messages from you after deletion.
Copies of some material (example: log records) may remain in Facebook’s database but are disassociated from personal identifiers.
If you choose to delete your Facebook account permanently orDelete your account, here’s what to do: You are advised to download a copy of your Facebook data before you delete your account for future purposes. To download a copy of your Facebook data:
Click the downward arrow at the top right of any Facebook page
Click on the link at the bottom of the main menu that says “Download a copy of your Facebook data”.